Please See Us by Caitlin Mullen

Please See Us by Caitlin MullenIn this sophisticated, suspenseful debut reminiscent of Laura Lippman and Chloe Benjamin, two young women become unlikely friends during one fateful summer in Atlantic City as mysterious disappearances hit dangerously close to home.

Summer has come to Atlantic City but the boardwalk is empty of tourists, the casino lights have dimmed, and two Jane Does are laid out in the marshland behind the Sunset Motel, just west of town. Only one person even knows they’re there.

Meanwhile, Clara, a young boardwalk psychic, struggles to attract clients for the tarot readings that pay her rent. When she begins to experience very real and disturbing visions, she suspects they could be related to the recent cases of women gone missing in town. When Clara meets Lily, an ex-Soho art gallery girl who is working at a desolate casino spa and reeling from a personal tragedy, she thinks Lily may be able to help her. But Lily has her own demons to face. If they can put the pieces together in time, they may save another lost girl—so long as their efforts don’t attract perilous attention first. Can they break the ill-fated cycle, or will they join the other victims?

Evocative, eerie, and compelling, PLEASE SEE US is a fast-paced psychological thriller that explores the intersection of womanhood, power, and violence.

10

Categories: romantic

Cheater's Game by Paul Levine

Cheater's Game by Paul Levine
Jake Lassiter Tackles the College Admissions Scandal.

Enter for a chance to win 1 of 10 Advance Reader Copies of Paul Levine’s latest Jake Lassiter thriller, CHEATER’S GAME, on-sale April 20th.

Rich parents will pay anything to get their kids into college...

For a price, Kip Lassiter can get a perfect score on any test...

And Kip's heartbroken uncle Jake must defend an unwinnable case.

"CHEATER'S GAME is a top-notch tale from Paul Levine, and his Lassiter is my kind of lawyer!" -Michael Connelly, author of THE LINCOLN LAWYER

"Lassiter is the lawyer we all want on our side and on the page." -Lee Child

1

Categories: sweden

Chosen Ones by Veronica Roth

Chosen Ones by Veronica RothEnter for a chance to win an advance reading copy of CHOSEN ONES and be one of the first to read the adult debut novel by #1 New York Times-bestselling author Veronica Roth!
“A hugely-imagined, twisty, turning tale that leads through the labyrinths of magic and war to the center of the heart.”
—Diana Gabaldon

2

Categories: american-classics

The Victim of the System by Steve Hadden

The Victim of the System by Steve HaddenEnter for a chance to win this rare thriller with heart...Haunted by the unsolved murder of his parents, a hometown sports hero battles to save a ten-year-old genius on trial for murder.

Twenty-two years ago, Ike Rossi’s life was shattered when his parents were murdered in cold blood. He surrendered his football scholarship and returned home to find their killer and raise his nine-year-old sister.

Now, the crime of a local ten-year-old genius, Jack Cole, threatens to unearth old wounds rather than provide the closure Ike desperately wants.

When Ike meets Jack inside the Pittsburgh courthouse, he doesn’t see a murderer but instead a boy who has been victimized by a system that has left them both without justice. Despite knowing the case will resurrect the painful demons of his parents’ unsolved murders, Ike agrees to clear Jack’s name. The court of public opinion and the district attorney have an airtight case. Worse, taking Jack’s side thrusts Ike into the crosshairs of the most powerful family in Pittsburgh, the Falzones.

Now, with only days before the trial, Ike confronts the Falzones’ crumbling empire to find the shocking evidence that could save Jack. At the same time, he races to decipher a series of cryptic clues from Jack’s dead father that could hold the key to his son’s freedom. But each step closer to the truth draws them further into danger, and as three fractured families collide, Ike is forced to choose between saving Jack—and saving himself.

5

Categories: survival

Combustible Punch by Paul Michael Peters

Combustible Punch by Paul Michael PetersRick Philips isn't a fighter — but he is a survivor

"An enthralling and unnerving probe into the complex mind of a murderer." - Kirkus Review

Haunted by memories of a high school shooting, not even the bottle can wash away the gnawing guilt and creeping feelings of inadequacy that batter Rick's conscience daily.

His life has been a mess of broken marriages, writer's block, terrible choices, and the morbid pity of others. When he meets Harriet at a writer's conference, the record doesn't scratch as he falls back — only this time, he may not get up.

Harriet Bristol Wheeler is a dark temptress — and self-confessed serial killer

Harriet has no problem killing — and even fewer issues blending back into the background after the act with the cool, calculating eye of a practiced social chameleon. Manipulative, unpredictable, and exceptionally intelligent, she's Rick's worst nightmare — and the ideal subject for his next book. A book that they are both desperate to write.

Time is running out — but the sadness will last forever

In the vein of Stieg Larsson and Thomas Harris, Combustible Punch is a memorable novel that captivates readers and lingers long after the last page.

10 winners of this drawing will receive a signed paperback copy of Combustible Punch

4

Categories: young-adult-science-fiction

The Lady's Handbook for Her Mysterious Illness by Sarah Ramey

The Lady's Handbook for Her Mysterious Illness by Sarah Ramey*GALLEY GIVEAWAY*

“A visceral, scathing, erudite read that digs deep into how modern medicine continues to fail women and what can be done about it.”
—Booklist, Starred Review

In her harrowing, defiant, and unforgettable memoir, Sarah Ramey recounts the decade-long saga of how a seemingly minor illness in her senior year of college turned into a prolonged and elusive condition that destroyed her health but that doctors couldn't diagnose or treat. Worse, as they failed to cure her, they hinted that her devastating symptoms were psychological.
The Lady's Handbook for Her Mysterious Illness is a memoir with a mission: to help the millions of (mostly) women who suffer from unnamed or misunderstood conditions--autoimmune illnesses, fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome, chronic Lyme disease, chronic pain, and many more. Ramey's pursuit of a diagnosis and cure for her own mysterious illness becomes a page-turning medical mystery that reveals a new understanding of today's chronic illnesses. Her book will open eyes, change lives, and, ultimately, change medicine.

3

Categories: unicorns

We're Not from Here by Geoff Rodkey

We're Not from Here by Geoff RodkeyEnter for a chance to win a paperback edition of WE'RE NOT FROM HERE by New York Times bestselling author Geoff Rodkey.

Imagine being forced to move to a new planet where YOU are the alien! From the creator of the Tapper Twins, Geoff Rodkey delivers a topical, sci-fi middle-grade novel that proves friendship and laughter can transcend even a galaxy of differences.

The first time I heard about Planet Choom, we'd been on Mars for almost a year. But life on the Mars station was grim, and since Earth was no longer an option (we may have blown it up), it was time to find a new home.

That's how we ended up on Choom with the Zhuri. They're very smart. They also look like giant mosquitos. But that's not why it's so hard to live here. There's a lot that the Zhuri don't like: singing (just ask my sister, Ila), comedy (one joke got me sent to the principal's office), or any kind of emotion. The biggest problem, though? The Zhuri don't like us. And if humankind is going to survive, it's up to my family to change their minds. No pressure.

3

Categories: adult