Thursday Afternoons

Thursday AfternoonsThursdays aren t simply another day of the week for Amy Spencer and Ellis Hall Thursday afternoons sizzle with no strings sex for the two women, who meet each week in a hotel room to forget their past and their present The arrangement works perfectly for Amy, a busy surgeon who s still smarting

Someday, Someday

Someday, SomedayHow long would you wait for love Max Kaufman was kicked out of his home as a teen and his life has been an uphill battle ever since From addiction and living on the streets, to recovery and putting himself through nursing school, he s spent the last ten years rebuilding his shattered sense of

Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen

Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit QueenFrom the highly acclaimed author of Version Control a stunning, powerfully evocative new novel based on a true story in 1726 in the small town of Godalming, England, a young woman confounds the medical community by giving birth to dead rabbits Surgeon John Howard is a rational man His apprentice

If You Say So (KPD Motorcycle Patrol #6)

If You Say So (KPD Motorcycle Patrol #6)Gabriel Luca Maldonado, III and Francesca Leandra Solomon were meant to be They were so in love that everybody prayed for what they had Everything was glorious They would get married, have children and live a perfect life She would be a doctor in the emergency room once she finished her

Across a Broken Shore

Across a Broken ShoreA Winter 2020 Junior Library Guild Selection The last thing eighteen year old Wilhelmina Willa MacCarthy wants is to be a nun It s 1936, and as the only daughter amongst four sons, her Irish Catholic family is counting on her to take her vows but Willa s found another calling Each day she

Twas the Nightshift Before Christmas

Twas the Nightshift Before ChristmasAn alternative cover edition for this ISBN can be found here Twas The Nightshift Before Christmas is the hilarious, poignant and entertaining story of the life of a junior doctor at the most challenging time of the year With twenty five tales of intriguing, shocking and incredible Christmas

This Is Going to Hurt: Secret Diaries of a Junior Doctor

This Is Going to Hurt: Secret Diaries of a Junior DoctorAdam Kay was a junior doctor from 2004 until 2010, before a devastating experience on a ward caused him to reconsider his future He kept a diary throughout his training, and This Is Going to Hurt intersperses tales from the front line of the NHS with reflections on the current crisis The result is

When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes AirFor readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living At the age of thirty six, on the verge of completing a

A Spark of Light

A Spark of LightThe warm fall day starts like any other at the Center a women s reproductive health services clinic its staff offering care to anyone who passes through its doors Then, in late morning, a desperate and distraught gunman bursts in and opens fire, taking all inside hostage After rushing to the

After the End

After the EndMax and Pip are the strongest couple you know They re best friends, lovers unshakable But then their son gets sick and the doctors put the question of his survival into their hands For the first time, Max and Pip can t agree They each want a different future for their son What if they could

The Body: A Guide for Occupants

The Body: A Guide for OccupantsIn the bestselling, prize winning A Short History of Nearly Everything, Bill Bryson achieved the seemingly impossible by making the science of our world both understandable and entertaining to millions of people around the globe Now he turns his attention inwards to explore the human body, how it

Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams

Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and DreamsA New York Times bestseller The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley s Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the

The Prison Doctor

The Prison DoctorDr Amanda Brown has treated inmates in the UK s most infamous prisons first in young offenders institutions, then at the notorious Wormwood Scrubs and finally at Europe s largest women only prison in Europe, Bronzefield From miraculous pregnancies to dirty protests, and from violent attacks on

Hold on to Hope

Hold on to HopeA best friends to lovers, stand alone romance from New York Times Bestselling Author, A.L Jackson Evan Bryant wasn t your typical hero But he was mine Broken by the worlds standards, he was still the strongest boy I would ever know My best friend The boy I d given everything to My

The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining Women

The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining WomenThe incredible true story of the women who fought America s Undark danger The Curies newly discovered element of radium makes gleaming headlines across the nation as the fresh face of beauty, and wonder drug of the medical community From body lotion to tonic water, the popular new element shines

The Obesity Code: Unlocking the Secrets of Weight Loss

The Obesity Code: Unlocking the Secrets of Weight LossEverything you believe about how to lose weight is wrong Weight gain and obesity are driven by hormones in everyone and only by understanding the effects of insulin and insulin resistance can we achieve lasting weight loss In this highly readable and provocative book, Dr Jason Fung sets out an