Charlie Sunshine (Close Proximity, #2)

Charlie Sunshine (Close Proximity, #2)Sometimes love is a lot closer to home than you think n nCharlie Burroughs can t keep a man All he wants is a good relationship like the ones he sees his friends having, but none of the men he picks ever work out Despite him trying to be the perfect boyfriend, the men are either threatened by his l

The Lady's Handbook for Her Mysterious Illness

The Lady's Handbook for Her Mysterious IllnessSarah Ramey recounts the decade long saga of how a seemingly minor illness in her senior year of college turned into a prolonged and elusive condition that destroyed her health but that doctors couldn t diagnose or treat Worse, as they failed to cure her, they hinted that her devastating symptoms w

Pharma: Greed, Lies, and the Poisoning of America

Pharma: Greed, Lies, and the Poisoning of AmericaAward winning journalist and New York Times bestselling author Gerald Posner traces the heroes and villains of the trillion dollar a year pharmaceutical industry and uncovers how those once entrusted with improving life have often betrayed that ideal to corruption and reckless profiteering with dead

This Is Going to Hurt: Secret Diaries of a Junior Doctor

This Is Going to Hurt: Secret Diaries of a Junior DoctorAdam Kay was a junior doctor from 2004 until 2010, before a devastating experience on a ward caused him to reconsider his future He kept a diary throughout his training, and This Is Going to Hurt intersperses tales from the front line of the NHS with reflections on the current crisis The result is

When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes AirFor readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living n nAt the age of thirty six, on the verge of completing a

Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family

Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American FamilyThe heartrending story of a midcentury American family with twelve children, six of them diagnosed with schizophrenia, that became science s great hope in the quest to understand the disease n nDon and Mimi Galvin seemed to be living the American dream After World War II, Don s work with the Air For

The End of October

The End of OctoberIn this riveting medical thriller from the Pulitzer Prize winner and best selling author Dr Henry Parsons, an unlikely but appealing hero, races to find the origins and cure of a mysterious new killer virus as it brings the world to its knees n nAt an internment camp in Indonesia, forty seven peop

Small Great Things

Small Great ThingsRuth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with than twenty years experience During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she s been reassigned to another patient The parents are white supremacists and don

The Red Lotus

The Red Lotus11 hours n nFrom the 1 New York Times bestselling author of Midwives and The Flight Attendant comes a twisting story of love and deceit an American man vanishes on a rural road in Vietnam, and his girlfriend, an emergency room doctor trained to ask questions, follows a path that leads her home to t

The Prison Doctor

The Prison DoctorDr Amanda Brown has treated inmates in the UK s most infamous prisons first in young offenders institutions, then at the notorious Wormwood Scrubs and finally at Europe s largest women only prison in Europe, Bronzefield From miraculous pregnancies to dirty protests, and from violent attacks on p

An Invisible Client

An Invisible ClientFor high powered personal injury attorney Noah Byron, the good things in life come with a price tag cars, houses, women That s why he represents only cases that come with the possibility of a nice cut of the action But as a favor to his ex wife, he meets with the mother of twelve year old Joel, a